Read Surveys (By Author)

Luella Fierston

What’s your birth date? 
Where were you born and where do you live now?

Born 02.27.1991. in Tarrytown, New York. Now live in New Rochelle, which is in Westchester.

Say anything you like about your cultural/ethnic/economic background.

My mom's family came over on the ship immediately following the Mayflower. My great-whatever governed one of the settlements. Her family has basically been in New England ever since. My father's family is Swedish way back, theoretically.

What kind of work do you do?

Copywriter/fashion writer.

Are you single, married, do you have kids, etc.?

Single (in a relationship but unmarried).

Please say anything you like about yourself that might put this survey into some sort of context.

I've been very very into fashion from a young age-- used to subscribe to all the magazines and pour over them as a kid. I would wear crazy things in middle school, things that weren't even so much unfashionable as just entirely out of, aside from, fashion. External from fashion, although I was deeply fascinated by it. Somewhere along there things changed and I became hyper-aware of how everyone is perceiving my based on my appearance, perhaps to the point of mild social debilitation. I think that probably traces back in some way to middle school, when I moved from St. Louis back to the northeast. On the surface everything was the same, but in terms of social interactions and my peers, it was like moving to the moon. Now I'm perhaps traditionally "fashionable" but not fashionable enough for my fashion industry job. I went to school in Baltimore where I felt like "The Stylish One", a big fish in a small pond. Working in Manhattan I can't really imagine feeling that way anymore.

How do you feel after filling out this survey?

A little thoughtful, a little withdrawn. It was just-this-side of cathartic, I think.

Share This Page

Read more surveys (By Author) Read more surveys (By Question)