Read Surveys (By Author)

Jess Atkinson

What’s your birth date? 
Where were you born and where do you live now?

I was born October 22, 1987 in Toronto, Canada. I moved to Brooklyn, NY 4 years ago (but I think about moving back all the time)

Say anything you like about your cultural/ethnic/economic background.

I grew up with a Taiwanese mom and a white dad who grew up on a farm near Collingwood, ON. She moved to Canada when she was 28 and met my dad who was her commercial art class instructor! We were somewhat poor growing up—poor enough that I was aware of it but not so poor that I wasn't able to do things and enjoy childhood. My mom often bought us used clothes from thrift stores and garage sales, which greatly influences the way I shop now.

What kind of work do you do?

I used to work in leather-crafts (handbags, accessories, etc.) and now I'm a graphic designer. I would like to make more art.

Are you single, married, do you have kids, etc.?

I live with my boyfriend of two years.

Please say anything you like about yourself that might put this survey into some sort of context.

I've always had a hard time finding and enjoying new clothes–most of what I own is from the thrift store and I find that I cannot truly enjoy something to it's fullest if I paid a lot of money for it. I also feel that clothes manufactured 20 years ago were better-made and I have a hard time finding the same level of craft in modern clothes that do not cost a fortune.

How do you feel after filling out this survey?


Share This Page

Read more surveys (By Author) Read more surveys (By Question)