Read Surveys (By Author)

Shirley Finfrock

1. When do you feel at your most attractive?

When I have dressed myself for a nice evening outing, have on comfortable shoes, and I've just washed my hair and its a good hair day and I have full makeup on.

2. Do you notice women on the street? If so, what sort of women do you tend to notice or admire?

I'm attracted to women 50 to 80 who are tall, beautifully dressed in lovely colors and styles appropriate for their age with bold jewelry, high quality purse and shoes.

What’s your birth date? 
Where were you born and where do you live now?

February 4, 1935. I was born in Piqua, Ohio.
I live in Palo Alto, CA

Say anything you like about your cultural/ethnic/economic background.

I was brought up in a provincial small town in western Ohio that was 20 miles north of Dayton, OH. My parents were low middle income. My father was in the food industry. I'm from northern European stock primarily Scotch/Irish and German. Didn't have much exposure to the arts growing up. Entertainment was movies 2 or 3 times a week. Exposed to the arts while being a dependent wife in Germany as a bride, and spent a two week live in Italy and was exposed to the museums in Florence, Rome etc. and met other young wives of officers from all parts of the U.S. that expanded my world

What kind of work do you do?

I am now retired, but I was a Event Planner and Trade Show Manager in Silicon Valley

Are you single, married, do you have kids, etc.?

Married for 58 years. No children.

Please say anything you like about yourself that might put this survey into some sort of context.

My favorite activities are travel, world, US--National Parks, taking day excursions with 8 other women to museums, nurseries, walking tours. My husband and I attend the San Francisco Symphony 6-8 times a season. Attend most new exhibits at the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco. We are huge women's basketball fans and have followed Stanford Women's BB games for 18 years. I've always liked pretty clothes and made a majority of my clothing from age 10 to 40. One of my favorite books was "Love, Loss, and What I Wore. I then followed the format and wrote out my personal 'What I Wore'. I remember special events by what I wore. I have been a prolific reader since age 5. Prefer non-fiction, history, political biographies. Good fiction. I was brought up a Republican, but for past almost 40 years I am a liberal Democrat. I am pro-choice, have many friends who are gay & lesbian and very upset by narrow mindedness of people regarding sex, gender, and ethnic differences. I seem to relate to women 10 to 15 years younger than myself rather than women of my own age. I have a variety of interests, photography, gardening, fitness, gourmet cooking. I hate all the violence in today's world, I am for gun control.

How do you feel after filling out this survey?

Fine, I like to share information about myself as a way for people to better know and understand me.


I am an only child, I had an aunt that loved pretty clothes and always took me on shopping excursions and bought me clothes. I was popular in high school, editor of high school annual. I had an afternoon and Sat. job age 16 to 19 in a drug store that sold Elizabeth Arden, Helena Rubinstein, Caron & Guerlain cosmetics & fragrance products. I attended Ohio State University in Business Admin. dropped out after four quarters, as I ran out of funds, and fell in love. Married at age 21, spent 14 months in Germany as Army officer's wife. Returned to the states was employed in clerical and secretarial positions in academia, and corporate America. Due to husband's employment lived in Columbus, Ohio, PIttsburgh, PA, Chicago before deciding we wanted to leave the midwest. At age 34, moved to Palo Alto and had a 25 year career in Silicon Valley and traveled extensive in the US for business and pleasure. I retired at age 59 due to burnout and stress of responsibility for the care of my mother who had Alzheimer's Disease. Two years later diagnosed with Stage 1 Breast Cancer, treated no reoccurrence. Have been a volunteer at a public garden in Palo Alto since 1995 primarily handling coordination of fundraising events.

Share This Page

Read more surveys (By Author) Read more surveys (By Question)